Your Account
close button

Use our patient tools for secure, convenient, 24/7 access. Learn more

This facility is a member of

Central Texas Medical Center: News

CTMC medical staff honors associates
SAN MARCOS, TX – Karen Khoussinov, ER critical care tech, and Herb Koenig, CT supervisor, were named the Central Texas Medical Center (CTMC) medical staff employees of the year at the annual medical staff meeting that was held on Nov. 13. Each received a special plaque and a gift card.

Karen Khoussinov became a critical care tech at CTMC in 2009. In the past, she served as a nurse aide, hair stylist, housekeeper, substitute teacher and teacher’s aide. She completed the Ringling Brothers Barnum Bailey Clown College and worked as a clown in 1991. She later went to beauty school and completed the paramedic program at Austin Community College. She has also served as a volunteer for the San Marcos Police Department’s Victim Services Unit, the South Hays Fire Department, the American Red Cross and CTMC Hospice Care.

Herb Koenig started his career at CTMC in 2001 as a CT technologist and is now a CT supervisor. He played a major role in designing the hospital’s current Lighthouse CT suite, ensuring plenty of room to safely and efficiently care for the most critical patients. In May 2011 and 2012, he was named the Medical Imaging Department’s Lighthouse Keeper of the Month. He received his associates in applied science degree from St. Philips College in 1991 and served in the Navy Reserves as a corpsman from 1988 to 1996. Previously, he worked at other hospitals as a diagnostic tech and quality control coordinator. At one time, he worked as an air conditioner service tech. In his spare time, Herb enjoys fishing, outdoor activities and construction.

The following CTMC associates were also nominated for medical staff employee of the year:

  • Lorilee Blackwell - Lab
  • Naomi Miranda – Lab
  • Natalie Austin - Lab
  • Janie Kothman – Cath Lab
  • Lisa Starey – Med /Surg unit
  • Karen Woods – Surgery Recovery Room
  • Sherry Hooper – Surgery
  • Patty Hancock – Out Patient Surgery
  • Adri Vasquez – Surgical Nurse Coordinator, Robotics
  • Kimberly Auito – Surgical Tech
  • Jerilyn Miller - Foundation Coordinator
  • Rose Alvarado – Maternal Child Health
  • Mindy Yuchinski – Maternal Child Health
  • Dolores Quintanilla

The following Medical Staff Officer awards were presented by CTMC Chief Nursing Officer Lana Cameron:

  • Fransisco Hernandez, M.D. – Immediate Past President Medical Staff/ Credentials Committee Chairperson – Case Management Medical Director
  • Lee Johannsen, M.D. – President Medical Staff/ Emergency Medicine Department Chairperson
  • Faisel Syed, M.D. – President Elect Medical Staff – Allied Health Professional Review Committee Chairperson

The Committee Chairpersons, Medical Directors, Department Chairpersons and 4th year Medical Staff Officer awards were presented by the current Medical Staff Officers – Drs. Hernandez, Johannsen, Syed. They are as follows: 

  • Patrick Williams, M.D. – 4th year Medical Staff Officer
  • Sue Ann Harrison, M.D. – Pedi/Nursery Department
  • Beth Reid, M.D. – OB/GYN Department
  • Charles Porter, M.D. – Anesthesia Department
  • Stuart Shapiro, D.O. – Surgery Department
  • Alberto Santos, III, D.O. – Family Practice Department
  • Steve Minor, M.D. – Medicine Department
  • Grant Williams, M.D. – Co Chairperson Emergency Medicine
  • John LeeSang, M.D. – Infection Control/ Employee Health Committee Chairperson
  • Ellen Grimm, M.D. – Pharmacy/Therapeutics Chairperson
  • Ken Long, M.D. – Physician Health & Well Being Chairperson
  • Greg Moore, M.D. – Hospice Medical Director
  • Peter Untalan, M.D. – Neonatology Medical Director
  • Doug Smith, M.D. – Medical Imaging Medical Director
  • Gladys Weng, D.O. – Nutrition Services Medical Director 
The hospital, which originated in 1923 as Hays County Soldiers, Sailors and Marines Memorial Hospital, was restructured in 1960. The present facility was opened at its current Wonder World Drive location in 1983. The CTMC staff of more than 700 employees works with more than 220 active and consulting physicians to provide quality services to patients and their families. In addition, over 200 community members and interns from area educational institutions volunteer their services to the hospital. In 2010 and again in 2011, CTMC was named The Best Hospital in Hays County. In addition, CTMC added a certified Chest Pain Center to its ER capabilities in 2011. In 2012, CTMC became the first operating room along the IH-35 corridor between Austin and San Antonio to be equipped with a da Vinci robotic-assisted surgery suite.

CTMC is a member of the Adventist Health System (AHS), a not-for-profit healthcare organization that emphasizes Christ at the center of care. Founded in 1973, AHS has quickly grown to become the largest not-for-profit Protestant healthcare provider in the nation. Today, AHS supports 43 hospitals and employs 55,000 individuals. AHS hospitals are comprised of 7,700 licensed beds, providing care for 4 million patients each year in inpatient, outpatient and emergency room visits.


Central Texas Medical Center
1301 Wonder World Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666